The introduction of the Village
Museum of Szentbékkálla
The Museum was founded on July 31,
1999 by teacher Ferenc Oltárczi.
first written reference of Szentbékkálla goes back to 1273. However this does
not mean that there had been no settlement here before that date. The stones
from the Roman ages found here and in the walls of buildings elsewhere are the
signs that this village was built on an even earlier settlement. The findings
in the first showcase in t he middle, which turned up during ploughing in
Szentbékkálla, are pieces of a sword from the 10th or 11th century preserved in
the Hungarian National Museum. The rest of the material on show follows the
history of the village from the middle of the 19th century. In the middle in the
2nd showcase you can see the photographs and records of the Kiszling, Fatér and
Vajai families. The 3rd showcase contains beautiful prayer books, calendars,
Bible notes, a conscription list of the boys born in 1849, and an identity card.
The 4th showcase contains documents of judicial auctions from 1858 and 1860, a
land-sale contract from 1891, a list of borrowers from 1844 and one of the most
valuable pieces of the museum, the draft and the final version of a deathwill
the left wall a cross-setting promissory note from 1854 and an 1864 marriage
certificate is exhibited. The first glasscase contains the full copy of
Historia Domus (its writing began in 1859), the full document collection of the
Ludvai family, a 19th century toybox, and documents and objects connected to the
church and the school. Above the case hang the paintings of the old Marton
family, of which Daniel and Ödön were excellent architects. Next is the picture
of György Szabó, the canon of Veszprém, who was born here, and whom we can thank
for the furniture – the altar, the benches and the floor – of our church. The
exhibits beside that are the coat-of-arms of the old Körmendy family, their
sword and the wooden leg of a
member who lost a limb in World War I.
Inside, above and
around the second glasscase one can see the memorabilia of the Great War and the
subsequent years. It is especially worth to mention the collar and cap of Lajos
Körmendi (Kurdi), who served as a sailor on the St Steven warship. The carved
wooden frames made by the soldiers are beautiful. Particularly nice is the
wedding photo from 1901 of József Böcskei and Teréz Werb. The Golden Book of the
Paladins and the original correspondence of Kálmán Darányi are dated somewhat
Across one can see
the peasant-style sideboard of the Oltárczi family, partly with original, partly
with contemporary objects. The drawer holds the beautiful wall-hangings and
other homespun clothes preserved in the village. Above the cupboard on the wall
across, on the two big photographs appear Ferenc Mohos, teacher and builder of
the Community Center, and Viktor Marx, the excellent educator of far reaching
ideas of the 1930-ies. Viktor Marx was a great specialist, cantor, director,
sportsman, and a bohemian if you like. His own photographs, pedagogical works,
compositions, music sheets and personal objects are also on exhibit. Beneath one
finds a bookbinding press, a tussock (a winecellar equipment) and a hand grind.
desk to the right is the original furniture of the town clerk, with the property
list, minutes of meetings, records of employment and an original bell on it.
Above one finds the photos nad leaflets of the swimmingpool also connected to
Viktor Marx. The booth contains the cylinder headed typewriter of Viktor Marx
and the one-time typewriter of a town-clerk. To the right there are photos of
old vintage processions and theater performances.
The first metal case
contains the books of the one-time Reading Club, report cards and other
documents of the school. In the second metal case one finds the documents and
photos of the significant blacksmiths of the village, János Máté sr. and jr.
The third case contains a notice of auction, a sugar-voucher, a servant book,
the documents of the Lakatos family, the bank deposit book of the parish and the
business notes of Gáspár Oltárczi. The old wedding pictures on the walls are the
works of portrait-painters. The big photoes show typical buildings of
Szentbékkálla and its neighbourhood. The wall-mirror of the Tomsics family and
the Sheperd's crook under it are beautifully carved.
This room leads the
visitor until the 2nd World War.